it’s lonely in the purgatorium

July 1, 2008 at 11:59 am (Comic Books)

Sorry things have been quiet around here. Summer’s given me a lot of time for my not-blogging projects and I’ve become ensconced in them, the most relevant being the reorganization and cleansing of my comic books.

 

 

The problem is, I do not know where to draw the line in my purging. Plenty of comics I bought only to bolster my weekly purchases- Jack of Fables, Jonah Hex, and JSA!?! Gone. Animal Man, Frank Miller’s Daredevil, and Simonson’s Thor!?! Not gone. But what about the ones in the middle? Fallen Angel, Waid’s Fantastic Four, and Regular Fables? I don’t know if I’ll end up regretting sending those sub-par series (my par is around Gotham Central and Moench and Kelley’s Batman) entwined with memories?

 

Part of the problem is that I’m going through personal changes in my relationship to comics. I’m no longer excitedly running in every week to return with a stack to whittle down over a couple days and coffees, I excitedly run into the shop when a new Morrison comic comes out. Otherwise, plenty of impressive newspaper strip collections or foreign comics will inveigle money from wallet. I’ve definitely crafted a self through diligent denunciations of crap that I no longer buy comics I will easily give up ten years later.

 

But where does this staunch older self leave the youngun sprawled out on the living floor in front of a television with the adventures of the Punisher and Spiderman? Shouldn’t I defend those ignored carpet irritations and arduous, aching hands (from individually removing and refilling taped cardboard and plastic concoctions) memorially? Am I erasing that diligent soldier from existence, only to replace the plucky youth by a critical adult?

 

I’m thinking that I put too much esteem in objects as vivifying the past. Superheroes will always have enlivened my childhood, no matter if I need old comics to remind me or not. Selling these comics now places a steadfast sentinel in between the bridge from my current habits and my youthful addictions. By selling these comics now, a bridge is being burnt to fuel current habits, but at least it suffers the blazing inferno of forsaking instead of the effacing annoyance of physical presence. They may be permanently gone, but they are never forgotten.

 

And besides, if I really wanna read those old comics again, I can always buy ‘em again! Thanks for reading.

 

Next: Why you HAVE to go out and buy this comic #1

 

Leave a Reply

